SB 5 and defending Ohio's middle class

Prof. John McNay

Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2014

4:30 p.m.

TUC Room 417


What are the roots of the effort to undermine collective bargaining and what would it mean for workers, unions, and regular Ohioans to lose this right? UC History Professor John McNay will discuss his experience in the "SB 5" battle of 2011 as well as the anti-union ideology and Right-to-Work drive that may target Ohio soon as well as the impact these concepts have on the American middle class. McNay is president of the Ohio Conference of the American Association of University Professors, and author of Collective Bargaining and The Battle of Ohio: The Defeat of Senate Bill 5 and the Struggle to Defend the Middle Class.


This event is sponsored by the UC chapter of the American Association of University Professors

McNay 2.jpg

Early Voting has begun

Early voting has begun in the State of Ohio.  Vote today!  You can vote in person at the Board of Elections or vote by mail.  Ohio residents can click HERE for more information or to obtain a form.  Contact your local Board of Elections with questions.

Right to work opposes democratic principals

Right to Work solidly opposes the democratic principles on which the United States is based.

We often hear important arguments about the number and quality of jobs. While Right to Work champions talk about “jobs” without regard to how those jobs affect people’s ability to improve their lives, I believe we need jobs with job security, good wages that give a worker’s family possibilities in life, and benefits to cover that family when times turn against them.

Read the full op-ed by President Greg Loving HERE.

Greg Loving Headshot (2).jpg

A Market Basket of dignity

E.J. Dionne writes about the wonder of the happy-ending tale of Market Basket, the New England grocery chain. Most of its 25,000 non-unionized workers walked out to get their deposed CEO, Arthur T. Demoulas, reinstated as the company’s leader. Last week, they won.

Read the full story HERE in The Washington Post.

Market Basket.jpg